PERSGA, the Regional Organization for Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden, is an intergovernmental body dedicated to the conservation of the coastal and marine environment of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden. The legal framework of PERSGA is Jeddah Convention signed in 1982. PERSGA is administratively and financially independent. It is governed by a Ministerial Council joining the ministers handling environment affairs in their countries. PERSGA has seven member states: Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. PERSGA is hosted in Jeddah by Saudi Arabia and runs a Mutual Aid Centre for Environmental Emergencies hosted in Hurghada by Egypt. PERSGA is managed by the Secretary General, assisted by a small core technical and administrative staff; and applies the approach of short term consultancies to conduct work over the load of regular staff.